

Queanbeyan District Cricket Club

Home of the Mighty Bluebags

Newsletter

Record score set by Second Grade

The first round was a record-breaking day for Second Grade in their One Day match against North Canberra Gungahlin. After being sent in Queanbeyan finished the innings at 4/400 from the 50 overs. This was:

- The club's highest One Day score in all grades
- The club's highest Second Grade score in any format
- First time three batsmen had scored a century in the same innings in any Cricket ACT Second-Grade match

Twenty20 competition results

Division 4 Twenty20 Champions 2016/17

4th Grade won the Division 4 T20 Grand Final against Western District UC held on Sunday 23rd October at Neil Bulger Oval by 3 runs.

Queanbeyan batted first scoring 6/115 from their 20 overs with Peter Jensen 49 and Micah Manners 25 the main contributors. Wests finished their 20 overs with a score of 8/112 with Peter Jensen 2/9 (4) and Troy Drayton 2/17 (4) the main wicket takers.

This is 4th Grade's first premiership since winning the One Day competition in 2009/10 season.



Back Row (L-R): Glenn Flatley, Micah Manners, Brad Moore, Simon Johnson, Rohan Ditton, Sid Girish, Troy Drayton Front Row (L-R): Tristan Klower, Ben Forbes, Michael Gilshenan ©, Peter Jensen, Stephen Cross

Division 3 Twenty20 Grand Finalist

3rd Grade were unsuccessful at defending the T20 title they have held since 2014/15 being defeated by Western District UC on Sunday 23rd October at Manuka Oval by 6 wickets.

Queanbeyan were sent in by Wests and scored 7/117 from the 20 overs with David Horsfall 36 (39) and Peter Solway 31no (26) the main contributors. Wests chased the total down with 10 balls to spare finishing at 4/120 (18.2).

Division 2 Twenty20 Semi Finalist

2nd Grade were unsuccessful at defending the T20 title being defeated by Western District UC in the Semi Final held on Sunday 16th October by 33 runs.

Wests chose to bat first scoring 121 (19.4) with Jordan Brown the chief destroyer taking 5/26 from 3 overs. Queanbeyan were unable to chase the target being bowled out for 88 in 17.2 overs with Jeremy Macdonald top scoring with 27 (32).

Konica Cup Twenty20

1st Grade were unsuccessful at defending the Konica Cup title finishing the pool stage with one win and two losses.

Brad Haddin Oval

A naming ceremony took place on Sunday 23rd October during the lunch break of the ACT Comets U/15 match against Sutherland.

During the break Queanbeyan-Palerang Regional Council Administrator Tim Overall officially renamed Queanbeyan Town Park to Brad Haddin Oval.



2016/17 Captains

The captains for the upcoming season are:

1st Grade: Vele Dukovski

2nd Grade: Darren Southwell (T20/One Day) and Jeremy Macdonald (Two Day)

- 3rd Grade: Peter Solway
- 4th Grade: Michael Frost
- 5th Grade: Aaron Thorn

Weeknight training

Freebody Oval Nets Tuesday from 5.30pm Thursday from 5.30pm

Trivia Night

Sat 5th Nov @ 7.30pm Roos Club \$20 per head **RSVP:** <u>treasurer@</u> <u>queanbeyancricket.com</u>

One Day Double Header Weekend

Sat 19th & Sun 20th Nov

Christmas Party

Sat 3rd Dec @ 7.00pm Roos Club

One Day Semi Finals

Sun 11th Dec

One Day Grand Finals

Sun 18th Dec

Holiday Break

The club's Christmas break will be from Mon 19th Dec 2016 to Wed 4th Jan 2017

Training Resumes Thurs 5th Jan @ 5.30pm

Matches resume

Sat 7th Jan 2017

Top performances in October

Centuries

Joshua Gregory 104, Alex Page 117 and Brad Falkenberg 118no

Half-Centuries

Josh Gregory 93, Michael Gilshenan 87, James Dimarhos 75no, Alex Page 75no, Adam Heading 69no, Jeremy Macdonald 64, Dean Solway 62, Rohan Ditton 60, Michael Gilshenan 59no, David Horsfall 58, Michael Gilshenan 56no, David Horsfall 55no, Peter Solway 55no, Chris Gane 55, Rohan Ditton 54, Wilson Morshead 53, Micah Manners 51 and Brad Falkenberg 50

Century partnerships

- 172 Alex Page & Brad Falkenberg
- 141 Josh Gregory & Alex Page
- 127 Alex Page & Brad Falkenberg
- 5th wicket 8th wicket

4th wicket

3rd wicket

- 123 Michael Gilshenan & Peter Jensen
- 2nd wicket 118 Josh Gregory & Jeremy Macdonald 3rd wicket
- 102 David Horsfall & Wilson Morshead

5 wickets in an innings

Glenn Flatley 5/24 (4), Jordan Brown 5/26 (3) and Darren Southwell 5/30 (10)

Grade ladders as at 30th October 2016

Club Championship*		1 st Grade		2 nd Grade		
Club	Pts	Club	Pts	Club	Pts	
Queanbeyan	182	Creek	16	Queanbeyan	15	
Wests	166	Tuggeranong	10	ANU	9	
Creek	152	Queanbeyan	10	Wests	8	
Ginninderra	124	Ginninderra	10	Ginninderra	8	
Tuggeranong	122	Wests	5	Norths	6	
ANU	116	Eastlake	5	Tuggeranong	4	
Norths	90	ANU	4	Eastlake	4	
Eastlake	64	Norths	0	Creek	0	
3 rd Grade		4 th Grade		5 th Grade		
Club	Pts	Club	Pts	Club	Pts	
Club Queanbeyan	Pts 14		Pts 13		Pts 10	
		Club		Club		
Queanbeyan	14	Club Norths	13	Club Creek	10	
Queanbeyan Norths	14 11	Club Norths Wests	13 10	Club Creek Queanbeyan	10 10	
Queanbeyan Norths ANU	14 11 8	Club Norths Wests Tuggeranong	13 10 10	Club Creek Queanbeyan Norths	10 10 8	:
Queanbeyan Norths ANU Wests	14 11 8 6	Club Norths Wests Tuggeranong Queanbeyan	13 10 10 8	Club Creek Queanbeyan Norths Ginninderra	10 10 8 8	
Queanbeyan Norths ANU Wests Creek	14 11 8 6 6	Club Norths Wests Tuggeranong Queanbeyan Creek	13 10 10 8 5	Club Creek Queanbeyan Norths Ginninderra Eastlake	10 10 8 8 6	:
Queanbeyan Norths ANU Wests Creek Ginninderra	14 11 8 6 6 4	Club Norths Wests Tuggeranong Queanbeyan Creek Ginninderra	13 10 10 8 5 4	Club Creek Queanbeyan Norths Ginninderra Eastlake Wests	10 10 8 8 6 4	

Leading run scorers

- 251 Josh Gregory
- 226 Michael Gilshenan
- 224 Alex Page
- 198 David Horsfall
- 197 Brad Falkenberg
- 171 Jeremy Macdonald
- 163 James Dimarhos
- 152 Rohan Ditton
- 147 Chris Gane
- 136 Vele Dukovski

Leading wicket takers

- 13 Darren Southwell Jordan Brown
- 12 Nirmal Singh
- 9 Guy Gillespie
- **Troy Drayton** 7 Tristan Klower**
- **Thomas Christou** 6 **Glenn Flatley** William Graham Peter Jensen **Oliver Cheatle** Mark Solway Vele Dukovski

Fielding

9	Brad Moore (4C/4S/1RO)
8	Alex Page (6C/2RO)
7	Stuart Bridgen (5C/1S/1RO)
5	Jeremy Macdonald (4C/1RO)
4	Cam Edgar (4C) Jack Manners (3C/1S) Phil Moore (3C/1RO) Vele Dukovski (3C/1RO)



Schnitzel nights at the Roos

\$14 Schnitzel specials will be available at the Roos Club on selected Saturday nights again this season.

The club looks forward to seeing as many players, partners and family members attending these nights as possible

Southern Cross Cricket

Club member Vinesh Bennett owns and operates Southern Cross Cricket (SCC) with on-site repair service and custom bat making, his own Southern Cross Cricket products and products from leading brands including GM, Kookaburra, Spartan, Slazenger, New Balance and more. Call in and see the wide selection on offer.

Unit 2, 19-25 Kembla Street Fyshwick

Mon-Fri 10.30am-5pm Sat-Sun 9.30am-12noon

Contact: <u>southerncrosscricket@live.com</u> or 0425 329 062 www.southerncrosscricket.com.au



QDCC Sponsors and supporters

The club would like to thank the following businesses for their continued support of the club during the 2016/17 season











